The Perfect Book Tag

JONES FAMILY REUNION

Hi everyone!

Today, after reading Sofii’s amazing new book tag on her blog A Book A Thought, I really wanted to do it myself and so here we are! I absolutely loved the concept of it; Sofii described it perfectly: “it’s all about creating our perfect story or perfect book based on our past readings. The idea is to create your own perfect book, choosing only the best of the best from other books you’ve already read. Choosing from our Perfect MC to our Perfect Ending” and I thought it would be really interesting (and challenging) to answer all the prompts. You can find and read all of Sofii’s answers here. The rules are simple:

  • Answer honestly, there are no wrong answers
  • To make it just a little harder, you can’t mention the same book twice
  • Have FUN!
  • Tag me if you decide to do it, I would love to see your answers
  • Tag at least 5 people

So let’s do this, shall we?

📗 The Perfect Genre

What genre would your perfect book be? Pick a book that represents perfectly its genre.

truthwitchFor this, I decided to choose fantasy, because it’s a genre I absolutely love, and I believe there are so many stories to be told within it. As for the book to represent it, I chose Truthwitch (and the whole Witchlands series) by Susan Dennard. It has everything I love in fantasy: an intricate magic system with many layers, an incredible cast of characters, a fascinating history, a vast world full of secrets and where every single place feels unique… It really is an incredible fantasy!

📗 The Perfect Setting

Because every story needs the perfect setting. Pick a book that takes place in a perfect place.

the gilded wolvesThinking about what to answer here made me realize that none of the books I read have a perfect place, there’s always something that makes them flawed. Maybe because it’s something I realized moving a lot, but I can never see a place as perfect even when I love it. So in the end, I decided to go with the Paris pictured in The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi. I found it so captivating, full of life but also far from perfect, and I loved how Roshani Chokshi reimagined it in her novel. It’s not perfect, but it was mesmerizing to me and I loved it.

📗 The Perfect Main Character

Because every book needs that brave and amazing MC. Pick the perfect main character.

warcross.pngEmika Chen from Warcross by Marie Lu is the first character that came to my mind. I loved her from the first chapter of Warcross and it’s actually strange because I have a difficult time putting into words why I love her so much. I love her determination, her bravery and how she tries her best. She’s complex, strong in many different ways. Part of me could relate to her, even though we are so different. I just love her so much, okay?

📗 The Perfect Best Friend

Because we always love that character who supports our MC, no matter what. Loyal and supportive, pick a character that you think is the best friend ever.

shadow-me.pngMaybe it’s because I read Defy Me a few days ago, but I picked Kenji Kishimoto from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. He’s such a supportive friend, there for Juliette throughout everything, and you can tell how much he cares about her, how much he wants her to be happy. I also love that he’s truthful and says things like they are, because I think it shows he wants the best for his best friend. He’s an amazing listener too, and I think he’s an incredible best friend to Juliette.

📗 The Perfect Love Interest

Although not all stories need it, we all love a bit of romance. Pick a character you think would be an amazing romantic partner.

clockwork-prince.pngJem Carstairs from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, without a doubt, would be an amazing romantic partner. He’s so loyal, he loves fiercely and with all of his heart, he’s honest and thoughtful, but also funny and kind. He would be there for the one he loves and he would care so much. What I love about him also is how open he is with his feelings. He would be incredible.

📗 The Perfect Villain

Because even when sometime we hate them, we always need them. Pick a character with the most sinister mind.

girls-of-paper-and-fire.pngThe Demon King from Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan is absolutely terrible. Everything about him is awful; his actions, the way he treats the Paper Girls, how he manipulates everyone, his attitude and the worst part is? He so clearly enjoys what he does. So there, he’s a sinister villain for sure.

📗 The Perfect Family

Our book wouldn’t be the same without that unconditional support from the MC’s family. Pick a perfect bookish family.

harry potterFor this, I decided to pick the Weasley family from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I know, it might not be the most original of answers, but I love them so much. Despite their differences, despite some conflicts, they love each other so deeply; there is so much love and support in that family it’s amazing.

📗 Perfect Animal or Pet

Because we all need a good loyal companion. Pick a pet or fantastic animal that you need to see on a book.

priory-of-the-orange-tree.pngI recently read The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon so I’m going to have to say dragons. Dragons are majestic, and I especially loved how they were portrayed in this novel. So yes to all the dragons, thank you.

📗 The Perfect Plot Twist

« OMG, how I didn’t see that coming! ». Pick a book with the best plot twist.

the naturalsOne plot twist that took me by surprise was definitely the plot twist at the end of The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I was so not prepared for it, I was speechless when I read it. Obviously, I’m not going to say what it is, but that was a startling plot twist for sure.

📗 Perfect Trope

Pick that trope you would add to your own book without thinking.

The Found Family trope with no hesitation. I’m actually working on a novel and it has a strong found family, so that should tell you how much I love that trope. A group of people finding each other, and bonding, being there for each other, supporting each other? Yes, always yes. I love it to bits.

📗 Perfect Cover

Because we all love a good, beautiful and artistic cover. Pick that cover that you would easily put in your own book.

the unbecoming of mara dyerI’m currently reading the Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin, and I absolutely love the covers. I find them stunning; deciding which cover from the trilogy I liked the most was actually difficult. But I finally chose the cover for the first book, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I love the colours and everything about it. It’s actually part of what drew me to the series and I think it fits it perfectly.

📗 Perfect Ending

Because every great adventure has an ending. Pick a book that has the perfect ending.

the-final-empire1.pngThe truth is, I’m often disappointed by endings. I don’t know why. But for this one, I picked The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. The ending absolutely broke my heart, and I was in denial for quite a while but in hindsight, I understand why it was the ending. It fit the series really well, and set up the next books perfectly. I was shocked, I cried, it was a truly emotional ending and I love emotional endings.

I tag: Clara, Marie, Malka & Chana, Caro and Tiffany but don’t feel obligated to do it, I’d just be super curious to see your answers!

This tag was really challenging because of the fact you can’t choose the same book twice, I had to think a long time for some of the answers. But it’s what made it also very interesting!

What would be the perfect genre for your perfect book, and what book do you think represents it the best?

Until next time,

Noémie

16 thoughts on “The Perfect Book Tag

  1. Ahhh what a fun tag, I love it so much and your answers are so great! I really liked Emika just as well, such a good main character. I’m so, happy you’re reading the Mara Dyer series, I hope you’ll enjoy it, I personally love it so, SO much. And agree, this cover is amazing ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, I’m so happy that you did it, love! I LOVE your answers, enjoy SO MUCH reading the whole post, I love to see the opinions about each point, it’s a lot of fun 👏🏻 💕
    I really need to read The Gilded Wolves, it sounds like such a beautiful book and I LOVE that you’ve chosen Kenji, it was my second option, I love him so much, he’s an INCREDIBLE best friend 😍
    Jem would be the PERFECT romantic interest, no doubts, another memorable character, I love him!!!
    The Mara Dyer trilogy is one of my favorite EVER, so I hope you’re enjoying it! 😊
    I really LOVE all your answers, thank you SO much for doing it, my heart is full❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you for the lovely comment darling, I had a ton of fun writing this post and doing this tag! ♥ The Gilded Wolves is incredible, let me know when you do read it so we can talk about it! I’m enjoying Mara Dyer a lot, I’m on the last book of the trilogy now so I should be done soon, I can’t wait to see how it ends!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jem Carstairs!!! I’m personally a bigger fan of Will Herondale, but I love both of these love interests so so much ❤ It's one of my favorite love triangles done right 🙂 I really like Emika in Warcross too. I love how she's such an independent badass. Plus, she's so smart with computers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t WAIT to do this tag! It’s just going to be me creating the fluffiest romance on earth with as little plot as possible. In fact, my friend even wrote me a short story doing just that for my birthday since she knows how hard it is to find a book that meets all my criteria!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Naturals is actually buried deep down my tbr somewhere because I remember wanting to read it a long time back but I never really got to it. Is it a YA crime thriller?

    there is nothing warmer that gives off happy vibes than the found family trope (which is one of the thousand reasons why I love The Foxhole Court so much). And wow all the best on your WIP, it already sounds so good because of that trope.

    I LOVE the mara dyer covers so. much. They’re all underwater melodramatic poses and it looks so, so good. I think my favorite is The Reckoning of Noah Shaw from the follow up trilogy (the colours are so good) and mayyybe Retribution for the og books 🖤

    Liked by 1 person

      • tbh the Mara Dyer trilogy does have a pretty good wrap up BUT if you like to just be crushed with more heartbreaking and angst and yell, “WHY?????” at the author through your phone then you should totally try the Noah Shaw trilogy 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment